Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #48

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, that highlights upcoming releases we're anticipating.

Author: Mindy McGinnis
Title: A Madness So Discreet
Series: None
Genre: YA, Historical, Mystery/Thriller, Horror
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Summary From Goodreads: 
Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylumand The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.
When Grace Mae is sent to the insane asylum because of the bulge in her belly, she already knows about madness and family secrets. It is in the darkness that she may find a new lease on life when a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind hiding beneath the fear and anger. Although the doctor insists that for Grace's safety she must continue to play insane while assisting him at crime scenes, she finds hope in a different, ethical asylum. But the gruesome nights when Grace and the doctor investigate a killer targeting young women bring Grace's shaky sanity, and the demons of her own past, dangerously close to the surface.

Why I'm Waiting:

Honestly, I didn't enjoy Not a Drop to Drink as much as everyone else did and I still haven't read In a Handful of Dust, but I'm definitely intrigued by A Madness So Discreet! While horror/thriller is probably one of my least favorite genres, I'm curious about the whole insane asylum setting!

What are you waiting for this week? Tell me in the comments below!                  
Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis is a YA author who has worked in a high school library for thirteen years. Her debut, NOT A DROP TO DRINK, a post-apocalyptic survival story set in a world with very little freshwater, has been optioned for film my Stephanie Meyer's Fickle Fish Films. The companion novel, IN A HANDFUL OF DUST was released in 2014. Look for her Gothic historical thriller, A MADNESS SO DISCREET in October of 2015 from Katherine Tegen Books. Mindy is represented by Adriann Ranta of Wolf Literary.


  1. Wow, Ariel! This is such a good pick. I'm not really a fan of psychological thriller, but for this book I'm willing to try. :) Hope you get to this soon! <3

    Fiona | A Girl Between the Pages
    Latest post: Book Blitz: Queen of Always (Stolen Empire #3) by Sherry Ficklin + Queen of Tomorrow (Stolen Empire #2) GIVEAWAY!

  2. This book sounds so intriguing and totally different compared with what I usually read - like you, I hardly reach for horror books! I adore the cover, too - it's gorgeous!!

    Sarah @ Novels & Whimsy

  3. I haven't yet read this author, but you had me at "madness." Thanks for sharing, and here's mine: “THE SECRET LIFE OF ANNA BLANC”

  4. I am glad this comes out soon. I really want to read it, even though I have seen mixed early reviews. I still love that cover though!

  5. I'm really, really looking forward to A Madness So Discreet! I haven't read her other books but am hoping for great things :) I haven't really read many thrillers, but the cover looks so pretty and makes it so enticing! Hope we enjoy it!

    Sanna @ Fanciful Fictions

  6. I definitely can't wait to get my hands on this one. And that cover...beautiful! Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

  7. I love the cover, and I am most definitely intrigued. Great pick! Have a wonderful day.

  8. Thanks for sharing the cover - I like it! This sounds like an intriguing read.